In 2012, Australia was announced as a co-host for the SKA project together with South Africa. Australia’s involvement in the project is coordinated by the Australian SKA Office in the Australian Government Department of Industry and Science through the Australia-New Zealand SKA Coordination Committee (ANZSCC). The Members of the ANZSCC are drawn from the Department of Industry and Science and CSIRO (Australian Government), the Western Australian Department of Premier and Cabinet (DPC), the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research (ICRAR), the New Zealand Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) and the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT)

The Australian site located in the west of Australia, is currently home to two precursor telescopes, the Australian SKA Pathfinder (ASKAP) led by CSIRO and the Murchison Wide field Array (MWA) developed by an international collaboration and managed by Curtin University. Both are producing promising early science.

Australian industry and research institutions are involved in 9 of the 11 international design consortia with Australians leading 2 of them, Infrastructure in Australia and the Dish Consortium.

For more information about the Australian component of the project, visit the site below.